Welcome to Karim Immigration

Federal skilled trades program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) was launched on January 2nd 2013 in order to provide a route for skilled trades people to immigrate to Canada.

The Federal Skilled Trades Class (FSTC), as its name implies, seeks to attract skilled trades-people to Canada. Specifically, it focuses on people in the following types of trades:

  • Industrial, electrical and construction trades (NOC Major Group 72);
  • Maintenance and equipment operation trades (Major Group 73);
  • Supervisors and technical occupations in natural resources, agriculture and related production (Major Group 82);
  • Processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators (Major Group 92)
  • Chefs and Cooks (Minor Group 632)
  • Butchers and Bakers (Minor Group 633).

FSTC applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • You must have at least two years of work experience in an accepted occupation
  • You must have this experience in the last five years
  • You must obtain a Certificate of Qualification or you must have a job offer(s) from up to two Canadian employers that totals at least one year of full time work
  • You must meet the minimum language requirements in English or French

The minimum threshold requirement for language proficiency for FSTC applicants has been set at Canadian Language Benchmark level 5 for speaking and listening and CLB level 4 for reading and writing. This is significantly lower than CLB 7, which is required under the FSWC.

For English, results from both the CELPIP (Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program) and the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) tests are accepted.

Our licensed Canadian immigration consultants can speak with you in person, by email or through the phone about your unique immigration situation and give you the best option/route that suites your situation.